Skip to content
 

Each guest is invited to leave us a review on our unique page on Orvis.com. These reviews are not coached nor are they sorted nor filtered. Please read these actual reviews and see what guests have to say about the fishing, the adventure activities, the accommodations and service; the entire Crystal Creek Lodge experience.

5.0
Overall rating
From 438 total reviews
Showing 1 to 24 of 438 reviews
...

Fisherman Ted

In Alaska there is no comparison

2 months ago
I own a lodge and do this for a living. I travel and fish and guide extensively. In short, this is one of the best lodges I have ever been to or seen, hands down. When you look for a lodge a seasoned angler looks at it all. You would be short sighted not to. And Crystal Creek provides it all. The whole package. Fishing. Lodging. Food. And arguably the most important service. We were the last guests of the year in 2023. My wife and I after just closing our lodge made the long journey from Boston to Alaska. And boy are we glad we did. Everyone is treated like family. Let's start there. Everyone knows your name. And I do mean the entire staff. Show me a lodge or hotel where that happens...you can't. The lodging was excellent. Our room beautiful, spacious and inviting. With wi-fi, and plush bedding, a shower you could park a Buick in. But we never spent too much time in our room. There was too much to do. The facility is first class. Actually stunning. Food very good. Setting incredible. Each day your guide takes you on an epic journey. One day you could float the river the lodge overlooks. But most days you jump on your own private plane and head out to the bush. Wild Alaska pictures just can't convey. We landed on tundra with not a sole within 150 miles. Hiked streams frothing with fish. One stream we hiked was fully of dolly vardens. And you could catch one on every cast. That is not an exaggeration. I bet I personally caught 80-100 that day, easily. All beautiful, strong fish. I had to stop on several occasions as my arms ached. On several days we went out to the Katmai. If you have never seen 500 lb bears 10 feet away from you gorging on salmon this is not to be missed. Aside from catching rainbows and reds we were so overwhelmed by the beauty of the setting, with hundreds of bears (including cubs) within casting distance that we often times just stared in wonder. There is more to life than fishing, and this drove that point home. To be surrounded by such majestic beauty is incredible. After each day we would come home to happy hour with fresh hors d'oeuvres (from sushi to oysters, pate to cheeses) and a fine glass of wine. Dinners were great, you will not go to bed hungry. Tired yes. The staff was superb (and again I train my fishing staff and know incredible people when I see them). The lodge owners superb. I cannot wait to go back. Its really that simple.

Anonymous

Everything was perfect!

6 months ago
From start to finish my trip to Crystal Creek was awesome! The staff treats you like royalty, the accommodations are as good as they get, the food is outstanding, the planes and boats are in perfect condition and clean, the rest of the equipment is top notch. Top all of this off with an amazing location in Alaska combined with fantastic fishing, what could be better. Thanks so much to Dan, Lynette, Alex and Heather for making this an unforgettable trip of a lifetime for my Dad and I!

Anonymous

Need zippered waders

6 months ago
Outstanding staff, owners, housekeeping, guides, equipment, lodging

Keith Harvey

6 months ago
Wonderful place, fantastic people, extraordinary experience!

Craig A

17 years and Counting!!!

6 months ago
Have fished at Crystal Creek Lodge for 17 years. There is a reason why they continually get 5 Star Reviews. Another great year with my brother and son. This is an adult camp for anglers. Eat-Fish-Sleep-Repeat. The fishing is always great. The dining and staff are exceptional. Can't imagine a better experience. Already booked for #18.

Jeff Apregan

Another Awesome Trip

6 months ago
We just came back from another awesome week at the Crystal Creek Lodge. Their entire team works so hard to make sure we have the best possible experience. The guides are knowledgeable and accommodating. The pilots are the best and get us into remarkable places and the kitchen and hospitality staff do everything possible to make us feel at home. They treat you like family which is why we keep coming back.

JimHAZ

The VERY BEST

6 months ago
Spectacular as usual!…. Awesome folks, beautiful accommodations , crazy fishing !…. Nothing more to say than…THANK YOU real CCL!!!

Big River Bob

Best lodge in Bristol Bay

6 months ago
Fishing, food, staff and accommodations are the best I’ve experienced in Alaska. They truly know the definition of service. Would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for the trip of a lifetime to Alaska.

Debs458

Unreal Experience

6 months ago
I'm not a great fly fisherwoman so I was a bit nervous to.....flyfish in AK! My husband goes for a week and I did the short trip with a friend to join up with our husbands. It was so cool to fly out everyday to isolated fishing spots with pilots who had our utmost safety in mind. The guides did EVERTHING to make our experience amazing. And we caught a ton of fish! The food was incredible...super fresh and beautifully prepared. The staff was top notch...they didn't miss a thing. The rooms were spacious and the beds were super comfy. We both had massages that were wonderful after a hard day of fishing. This lodge is so worthy of its 5 stars and I would recommend it with no hesitation.

ROCK22

I’ve spent over a year of my life at Crystal Creek

6 months ago
The staff at CCL are like family to me. From your arrival in King Salmon until your departure your every need is addressed by their family oriented team. The total Alaskan experience is achieved by the full range of activities for your custom week as a guest. Outstanding place to relax and experience the GOD filled wonder and beauty of Alaska.

Nancy VT23

Still the VERY BEST!

6 months ago
Frisky silvers, gorgeous rainbows, bears grabbing salmon close enough to keep our heads swiveling from our rods to their eyes, flights across the stunning tundra, bear cubs frolicking on the beach, belugas, seals, eagles, and a team of guides and pilots clearly the best in the business. Chef Brian's cuisine -- double desserts included -- filled as many pages in my journal as the days' fishing. Above all, Alaska continues to amaze us and our time at Crystal Creek is always filled with laughter and delight.

Boboutside

Outstanding Alaska Experience!

6 months ago
I recently took my wife and another couple to Crystal Creek Lodge. I had been a couple of times previously, focused on trout fishing. On this trip we fished 2 days and spent 2 days on excursions for bear and walrus viewing. Each day was absolutely outstanding. The food is creative and delicious! The facilities, planes and team are all first rate. The fishing guides are very skilled and able to adjust to beginners as well as experienced fly fisher people. The staff is just incredible. For people fortunate enough to have experienced different lodges and outfitters, you know that people make the difference. And the people at CCL are the best!

EMiner

Week of fishing at Crystal Creek

6 months ago
One week stay fishing every day, very upscale accomodations, excellent food

Beatriz McDavid

Dream vacation

7 months ago
This is my 3rd year going to Crystal Creek Lodge. Every year gets better and better. Coming back to the lodge, food, fishing, guides, music, sunsets, rivers, bears, beavers, friends and family makes CCL the best place to be.

JP25

Amazing Alaskan Adventure!

7 months ago
An unbelievable treat to enjoy Crystal Creek Lodge. The scenery, staff and fishing have no equals. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Millsy

Fishing, flying, bear, walrus, adventure, FUN!!

7 months ago
Where to begin??? Love, love, love Crystal Creek Lodge. . . . what it has to offer, the attention to detail, service, safety and customer fulfilment. The staff are genuinely passionate about their surroundings, environment, their guests and one another. I have been blessed to experience my second stay with CCL this past summer - the Lodge Owners [Dan/Lynette, Alex/Heather] really set a fabulous tone among the staff who all have such respect and appreciation for them. Be prepared to be part of the family - we were fortunate to have an amazing fishing experience catching limits; plenty of bear encounters to keep the blood pumping between hook ups! Rooms are comfortable, food is great, Manhattans at the end of the day; truly felt a sadness when pulling away.

Bhalus

Best trip/lodge/staff ever!

7 months ago
The staff at Crystal Creek is like no other. They are not only great at what they do, but they go above and beyond to take care of their guests and their individual needs. I have some physical limitations and the guides at CCL all went above and beyond to ensure I had a great time and enjoyed the fishing, scenery and more fishing. The food at CCL is simply beyond.!oh, and the accommodations are quite nice and very comfortable beds!

Brandon20

Crystal Creek Lodge is the absolute best!

7 months ago
The lodge, the staff, the food, and the overall experience are first class. From the moment you enter the lodge, you immediately feel like you are part of the family. If you are looking to fish some of the best rivers in the world with some of the best guides in the world, then you need to add Crystal Creek Lodge to your "must go" list.

Dwminer29

The pinnacle of quality and integrity.

7 months ago
It is difficult to express in words how magnificent Alaska is. It would be impossible to see her, in all her glory, without the wonderful hospitality of Crystal Creek Lodge, and the remarkable staff they have assembled. As someone who has visited this lodge for 3 decades, I can safely say that they consistently over achieve on every level. The personal experience they provide is the most important aspect of the journey. That being said, they do not miss a beat from gear, food, amenities, variety, and overall attention to detail, it is truly one of the finest organizations I have had the pleasure to interact with in my lifetime. Bring your kids, your parents, your friends, and share the amazing experience that is Alaska and Crystal Creek Lodge. You will never regret it, and you will want return.

Bill McDavid

The best! Again!

7 months ago
I think this was my 9th visit to Crystal Creek Lodge and it is never a disappointment! Impeccable service and facilities. The airplanes look like they just came off the assembly line. Bears, eagles, culinary excellence and FISH! What more could a person hope to find?

Evans8750

Unbelievable Experience!!

7 months ago
What a week. From the moment we arrived, it was evident that this lodge and these people have it dialed. From the food to the equipment, from the fishing to meals, it was exceptional. But what truly made the experience unforgettable were the people. The guides, the pilots, the staff, everyone cared deeply about making sure our guest experience was second to none. I'm so grateful.

TAF23

Crystal Creek Lodge

7 months ago
It does not get any better than Crystal Creek Lodge! From the moment you step through the front door of the Lodge, the sole goal of your soon to be new friends at the Lodge is to make your time at the Lodge memorable in every way. From your friends who cater to your every need in the Lodge, to your fishing guides who work tirelessly to make each outing unique and rewarding, to your pilots who take you to remote destinations, everyone is fantastic. Not to mention the scenery, the fish and the bears. Highly recommended in every way.

23kgibby

Crystal Creek Lodge

7 months ago
Gathering of friends from all walks...meeting new friends...mixing and matching while enjoying our renewable resources. Facilities, equipment, and STAFF... Everything good...Wonderful Wonderment! On my bucket list again.

Anonymous

Amazing staff

7 months ago
This is a crew that takes every single detail to the Nth level! Every aspect of what they do is done with the utmost caring attention to your enjoyment! It’s not fake or contrived, you feel like family from the moment they pick you up! 👏🏽👏🏽👊🏽💥🇺🇸
Showing 1 to 24 of 438 reviews
...